Richard Sheldon Palais


Ph.D. Harvard University 1956 UnitedStates
Dissertation: A Global Formulation of the Lie Theory of Transformation Groups
Mathematics Subject Classification: 22—Topological groups, Lie groups

Advisor 1: Andrew Mattei Gleason
Advisor 2: George Whitelaw Mackey

Click here to see the students listed in chronological order.

Ault, RobinBrandeis University1970
Basu, SusantaBrandeis University1992
Bierstone, EdwardBrandeis University19727
Drager, LanceBrandeis University1978
Eck, DavidBrandeis University1980
Graff, RichardPrinceton University1972
Kao, Shu-JungBrandeis University1991
Koschorke, UlrichBrandeis University19688
Lamport, LeslieBrandeis University1972
Lee, Shih-ChiBrandeis University1975
Mesirov, JillBrandeis University1974
Park, JoonsangBrandeis University1992
Saber, JohnBrandeis University1964
Schmidt, MarkBrandeis University1969
Shipman, JosephBrandeis University1991
Subramaniam, T.Brandeis University1984
Sung, Wing-WahBrandeis University1990
Terng, Chuu-LianBrandeis University19767
Uhlenbeck, KarenBrandeis University196869
Wang, Ming-QiangBrandeis University1992
Wasserman, ArthurBrandeis University19656
Wu, Bing-LeBrandeis University1991

According to our current on-line database, Richard Palais has 22 students and 117 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 35504 for the advisor ID.