Michael (Athanassiades) Athans


Ph.D. University of California, Berkeley 1961 UnitedStates
Dissertation: Bang-Bang Control of Real Pole Systems
Mathematics Subject Classification: 49—Calculus of variations and optimal control

Advisor: Otto Joseph Michael Smith

Click here to see the students listed in chronological order.

Birdwell, J. DouglasMassachusetts Institute of Technology197811
Burchfiel, JerryMassachusetts Institute of Technology1968
Chan, ShermanMassachusetts Institute of Technology1981
Chao, AlanMassachusetts Institute of Technology1995
Chong, Chee-YeeMassachusetts Institute of Technology1973
Debs, AtifMassachusetts Institute of Technology19693
Dersin, PierreMassachusetts Institute of Technology1980
Douglas, JoelMassachusetts Institute of Technology1995
Fekriasl, SajjadInstituto Superior Técnico2006
Fortmann, ThomasMassachusetts Institute of Technology1969
Geering, HansMassachusetts Institute of Technology19713
Gray, DonaldMassachusetts Institute of Technology1967
Greenberg, StuartMassachusetts Institute of Technology1969
Grunberg, DanielMassachusetts Institute of Technology1986
Hassani, VahidInstituto Superior Técnico2012
Hosein, PatrickMassachusetts Institute of Technology1989
Houpt, PaulMassachusetts Institute of Technology1974
Johnson, TimothyMassachusetts Institute of Technology19721
Joseph, KeithMassachusetts Institute of Technology1970
Kapasouris, PetrosMassachusetts Institute of Technology1988
Kleinman, DavidMassachusetts Institute of Technology19676
Kramer, LeslieMassachusetts Institute of Technology1971
Ku, RichardMassachusetts Institute of Technology1978
LaMaire, RichardMassachusetts Institute of Technology1987
Lehtomaki, NormanMassachusetts Institute of Technology1981
Levine, WilliamMassachusetts Institute of Technology19691
Levis, AlexanderMassachusetts Institute of Technology1968
Lopez, JoséMassachusetts Institute of Technology1993
Lopez-Toledo, AlejandroMassachusetts Institute of Technology1974
Lublin, LeonardMassachusetts Institute of Technology1996
Milich, DavidMassachusetts Institute of Technology1988
Milutinovic, DejanInstituto Superior Técnico20041
Orlicki, DavidMassachusetts Institute of Technology1985
Papastavrou, JasonMassachusetts Institute of Technology19903
Plant, JohnMassachusetts Institute of Technology1965
Rohrs, CharlesMassachusetts Institute of Technology19823
Rosa, PauloInstituto Superior Técnico2011
Safonov, MichaelMassachusetts Institute of Technology197730
Sandell, Jr., NilsMassachusetts Institute of Technology197421
Shamma, JeffMassachusetts Institute of Technology19885
Thompson, PeterMassachusetts Institute of Technology1982
Tse, EdisonMassachusetts Institute of Technology197052
Tsitsiklis, JohnMassachusetts Institute of Technology1985342
Willner, DieterMassachusetts Institute of Technology1973
Wissinger, JohnMassachusetts Institute of Technology1994
Witsenhausen, HansMassachusetts Institute of Technology1966

According to our current on-line database, Michael Athans has 46 students and 528 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 63079 for the advisor ID.