Garrett Birkhoff

Biography MathSciNet

B.A. Harvard University 1932 UnitedStates

Advisor 1: Philip Hall

Click here to see the students ordered by family name.

Brenner, JoelHarvard University1936
Dyer-Bennet, JohnHarvard University1940
Whitman, PhilipHarvard University1941
Mannos, MurrayHarvard University19421
Arens, RichardHarvard University1945245
Certaine, JeremiahHarvard University1945
Taam, Choy-TakHarvard University194512
Masani, PesiHarvard University194612
Caywood, ThomasHarvard University1947
Stewart, FrankHarvard University1947
Heineman, MarianHarvard University1948
Mostow, GeorgeHarvard University194817
Crabtree, J. BruceHarvard University19501
Davis, H. ChandlerHarvard University1950210
Sopka, JohnHarvard University1950
Young, Jr., DavidHarvard University195018
Pierce, WilliamHarvard University1951
Markus, LawrenceHarvard University1952141
Abkowitz, MartinHarvard University195313
Kneale, SamuelHarvard University1953
Howland, JamesHarvard University1955
Wilcox, CalvinHarvard University195516
Mullikin, ThomasHarvard University195848
Leibowitz, MartinHarvard University1961
Bennett, JohnHarvard University1962
Brown, ThomasHarvard University1962
Lynch, RobertHarvard University196315
Rockafellar, RalphHarvard University196370
Canosa-Martinez, JoseHarvard University1965
Merzbach, UtaHarvard University19651
Schultz, MartinHarvard University196555
Abu-Shumays, IbrahimHarvard University1966
Baker, KirbyHarvard University19668
Wente, HenryHarvard University19663
Nagpaul, Sudarshan-RaiHarvard University1967
Taylor, WalterHarvard University19686
Fix, GeorgeHarvard University196966
Hulme, BernieHarvard University1969
Keeler, EmmettHarvard University1969
Lipson, JohnHarvard University19701
Poythress, VernHarvard University1970
Rose, DonaldHarvard University197024
Wakoff, GaryHarvard University1970
Bona, JerryHarvard University197183
Goodman, RichardHarvard University1971
Priver, ArthurHarvard University1971
Waterman, AlanHarvard University1971
Edgar, GeraldHarvard University197313
Markowsky, GeorgeHarvard University19731
Dougalis, VassiliosHarvard University197616
Olver, PeterHarvard University197642
Epstein, BarbaraHarvard University1978

According to our current on-line database, Garrett Birkhoff has 52 students and 1183 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 16942 for the advisor ID.