Leonid Anatolievich Levin


Ph.D. Lomonosov Moscow State University 1972 Russia
Dissertation: Some Theorems on the Algorithmic Approach to Probability Theory and Information Theory (unsuccessful defence for political reasons)

Advisor 1: Andrei Nikolayevich Kolmogorov

Ph.D. Massachusetts Institute of Technology 1979 UnitedStates
Dissertation: A General Notion of Independence of Mathematical Objects: Its Applications to Some Problems of Probability Theory, Mathematical Logic and Algorithm Theory
Mathematics Subject Classification: 03—Mathematical logic and foundations

Advisor 1: Albert Ronald da Silva Meyer

Click here to see the students listed in chronological order.

Itkis, GeneBoston University19931
Rajagopalan, SivaBoston University1996
Venkatesan, RamarathnamBoston University1990

According to our current on-line database, Leonid Levin has 3 students and 4 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 17519 for the advisor ID.