W. Gilbert (William) Strang


Ph.D. University of California, Los Angeles 1959 UnitedStates
Dissertation: Difference Methods for Mixed Boundary Value Problems

Advisor: Peter Karl Henrici

Click here to see the students ordered by family name.

Holmes, RichardMassachusetts Institute of Technology196412
Miller, JohnMassachusetts Institute of Technology196579
Dickinson, DeanneMassachusetts Institute of Technology1966
Packel, EdwardMassachusetts Institute of Technology1967
Israel, JayMassachusetts Institute of Technology1968
Doles, III, JohnMassachusetts Institute of Technology1969
Flaschka, HermannMassachusetts Institute of Technology197012
Berger, AlanMassachusetts Institute of Technology1972
Goldberg, MichaelMassachusetts Institute of Technology1972
Rubinstein, RobertMassachusetts Institute of Technology1972
Scott, L. RidgwayMassachusetts Institute of Technology197337
Christiansen, EdmundMassachusetts Institute of Technology19761
Matthies, HermannMassachusetts Institute of Technology197874
Strela, VasilyMassachusetts Institute of Technology1996
Colthurst, ThomasMassachusetts Institute of Technology1997
Betaneli, DmitriMassachusetts Institute of Technology1998
Shen, JianhongMassachusetts Institute of Technology19981
Fann, GeorgeMassachusetts Institute of Technology2000
Gorsich, DavidMassachusetts Institute of Technology2000
Liu, XiangweiMassachusetts Institute of Technology2001
Grinfeld, PavelMassachusetts Institute of Technology20031
Persson, Per-OlofMassachusetts Institute of Technology20056

According to our current on-line database, W. Gilbert Strang has 22 students and 245 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 13383 for the advisor ID.