George David Birkhoff

Biography MathSciNet

Ph.D. The University of Chicago 1907 UnitedStates
Dissertation: Asymptotic Properties of Certain Ordinary Differential Equations with Applications to Boundary Value and Expansion Problems

Advisor: E. H. (Eliakim Hastings) Moore

Click here to see the students listed in chronological order.

Adams, ClarenceHarvard University1922508
Agnew (LeCaine), JeanneRadcliffe College19417
Batchelder, PaulHarvard University1916
Betz, HermanYale University1924
Bourgin, DavidHarvard University19261945
Brink, RaymondHarvard University1916
Brinkmann, HeinrichHarvard University19258
Carmichael, RobertPrinceton University19111638
Clippinger, RichardHarvard University1940
Coe, CarlHarvard University1929
Cope, Frances (Thorndike)Radcliffe College1932
Ettlinger, HymanHarvard University1920494
Galbraith, AlanHarvard University1937
Garabedian, CarlHarvard University1923
Gravalos, FaustoHarvard University1941
Guenther, PaulHarvard University19412
Hestenes, ArnoldHarvard University1940
Hinrichsen, JohnHarvard University19295
Holley, JulianHarvard University1924
Koopman, BernardHarvard University1926452
Lancaster, OtisHarvard University1937
Langer, RudolphHarvard University1922604
Lewis, Jr., DanielHarvard University19325
Linfield, Ben-ZionHarvard University19231
Liu, Chin-NienHarvard University1930
Miller, NormanHarvard University1916
Morrey, Jr., CharlesHarvard University193126
Morse, H. C. MarstonHarvard University19171598
Murray, ForrestHarvard University1923
O'Connor, RobertHarvard University1941
Pairman, EleanorRadcliffe College1922
Price, GriffithHarvard University193221
Reynolds, Jr., ClarenceHarvard University1919
Robbins, RainardHarvard University1914
Sheffer, IsadorHarvard University19274
Slepian, JosephHarvard University1913
Smith, TurnerHarvard University1931
Steen, FrederickHarvard University1934
Stone, MarshallHarvard University19262237
Street, RobertHarvard University1938
Walsh, JosephHarvard University19202698
Ward, LewisHarvard University19251
Whitney, HasslerHarvard University19321383
Widder, DavidHarvard University1924614
Williams, KennethPrinceton University1913
Wilson, LeviHarvard University1915

According to our current on-line database, George Birkhoff has 46 students and 12131 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 5879 for the advisor ID.