Herbert Ellis Robbins

Biography MathSciNet

Ph.D. Harvard University 1938 UnitedStates
Dissertation: On the Classification of the Maps of a 2-Complex into a Space

Advisor: Hassler Whitney

Click here to see the students listed in chronological order.

Bahadur, Raghu RajThe University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill195059
Edelman, DavidColumbia University19831
Hannan, JamesThe University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill1953104
Johns, Jr., MiltonColumbia University195655
Kallianpur, GopinathThe University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill1951116
Li, ZhaohaiColumbia University19902
McCabe, Jr., GeorgeColumbia University197014
Nadas, ArthurColumbia University1967
Rodriguez, CarlosState University of New York at Stony Brook19844
Siegmund, DavidColumbia University1966351
Wilf, HerbertColumbia University1958109

According to our current on-line database, Herbert Robbins has 11 students and 820 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 7781 for the advisor ID.